Scope of Practice Victory in Arkansas

Hello again, everyone! I’d like to share some great news from the state of Arkansas.

After more than a decade of intense disagreement between the Arkansas Board of Medical Examiners and the Arkansas Board of Nursing, legislation was passed in 2009 that codified the fact that medical assistants are permitted to administer medication under a physician’s direct supervision. In 2010 the Board of Medical Examiners promulgated regulations pursuant to the legislation.

Regaining the right to be delegated injections is a significant victory for the medical assisting profession in Arkansas. Join me in celebrating this victory, and stay updated on the medical assisting issues in your state!

About Donald A. Balasa

Donald A. Balasa, JD, MBA, chief executive officer and legal counsel for the American Association of Medical Assistants, keeps his eye on what is happening in the profession.
This entry was posted in Scope of Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scope of Practice Victory in Arkansas

  1. Sherry Brewer says:

    That is wonderful Don. I personally want to thank you for all the hard work you do to protect our right to practice. I don’t know where we would be without you all these years.

  2. peppamint patti says:

    I have a question regarding scope of practice. I am a medical assistant working with a urologist in florida for eight years. I am concerned that I am out side my scope of practice and dont know what to do about it. Besides a host of other duties I change and irrigate foley catheters on a regular basis both indwelling and suprapubic. I have also been instructed to treat bladder cancer patients with bcg, Mitomycin or dmso. Hes even had me administer zometa via IV route even though i was never trained in IV. I see patients on a regular basis for these things and im always wondering if im even supposed to be doing these things and im afraid to refuse because i dont want to be fired can you please reassure me im not breaking the law. And if I am do i have any recourse other than quitting. Im a single mother of three young children and I cant afford to just walk out on my job, but I just dont feel right with this because people look at me like im crazy when i tell them what I do at work.

    • Thank you for your question. I will e-mail you the Florida medical assisting law and the decision by the Florida Board of Medicine permitting physicians to delegate IV infusion to competent and knowledgeable medical assistants working under their direct supervision in outpatient settings.

      These duties seem to be beyond the scope of medical, and even CMAs (AAMA), under Florida law. I would suggest that you immediately ask the Florida Board of Medicine whether physicians, under the Florida Medical Practice Act and the regulations and opinions of the Florida BOM, are permitted to delegate such duties to medical assistants.

      I will now e-mail you directly with the attachments.

      I hope you have found my answer helpful. Let’s discuss this further via e-mail.

      Donald A. Balasa, JD, MBA
      Executive Director, Legal Counsel

      American Association of Medical Assistants
      Ph: 800/228-2262 | Fax: 312/899-1259 | http://www.aama-ntl.org

      Visit us on Facebook! http://www.aama-ntl.org/facebook

      The CMA (AAMA): Health Care’s Most Versatile Professional

Leave a Reply

